Sunday, 18 November 2012

In My Mailbox

Last chance to enter our UK & International giveaways!  Ends in under 16 hours!!!  We are just 1 follower away from 500 GFC followers :)

Once again it’s time to take part in the Stacking My Shelves meme, hosted by Tyna's Reviews and In My Mailbox meme, hosted by The Story Siren.  I’ve had a bookilicious week this week, here’s what’s landed:

For review:

Luminosity by Stephanie Thomas
Gothic eye candy!  I love the dark contrast to the pale face and raven wing tattoo.  I’ve just read this one, so my review has already gone up.

Book synopsis:
My name is Beatrice. When I was born, I was blessed with the Sight. I was immediately removed from my parents and enrolled in the Institution. At the age of twelve, I had my first true vision, earning my raven's wings. And when I turned seventeen, one of my visions came true. Things haven't been the same since.
The Institution depends on me to keep the City safe from our enemy, the Dreamcatchers, but I'm finding it harder to do while keeping a secret from everyone, including my best friend Gabe. It is a secret that could put us all in danger. A secret that could kill me and everyone close to me.
The enemy has been coming to me in my dreams, and I think I'm falling in love with him. He says they're coming. He says they're angry. And I think I've already helped them win.

Grave Mercy, His Fair Assasin by Robin LaFevers
This one is a MP3 from AudioGo.  I love the cover on this and the book blurb sounds amazing. (Sorry, for some reason AudioGo is havig a wobbly today, so unable to share the cover)

Book synopsis:
Trained as an assassin by the god of Death, Ismae is sent to the court of Brittany, where she finds herself underprepared - not only for the games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death's vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

A dangerous romance full of intrigue, poison and ultimately finding one's way.

Moonset by Scott Tracey

Ok, so I’m a book cover freak!  The shade of the chained book on this reminded me of steampunk…so I like it ;p  I’m intrigued by the synopsis…

Justin Daggett, his trouble-making sister, and their three orphan-witch friends have gotten themselves kicked out of high school. Again. Now they’ve ended up in Carrow Mills, New York, the town where their parents—members of the terrorist witch organization known as Moonset—began their evil experiments with the dark arts one generation ago.

When the siblings are accused of unleashing black magic on the town, Justin fights to prove their innocence. But tracking down the true culprit leads him to a terrifying discovery about Moonset’s past . . . and its deadly future.
 
Vets in Love by Cathy Woodman
I haven’t read a slushy romance for a while (I don’t mean that in a derogatory way)…but this looks like it might fit the bill and get me in the Christmas spirit.  When I was a teen I used to read a heck of a lot of Mills and Boon (As one of the only bookworms remotely interested in M&B, I gained my Nan’s whopping collection, which I never did get to the end of!!!)  Anyways….

Book synopsis:
There's a new vet at Talyton St George's large animal practice, and he's causing more than one heart to flutter. A wonderful warm and romantic Christmas tale from the bestselling author of Trust me, I'm a Vet.

Reached by Ally Condie
I must be the only person reading YA who hasn’t actually read any of this series yet.  I have got myself the first in the series now, but now I’ve seen the size of the last book I know I’m not going to have time to read the first two before this ones is published, so not sure what to do…read the last one by itself, or slowly go through from the start…this ones a whopper of a book at 520 odd pages.

Book synopsis:
The final thrilling part of the New York Times bestselling trilogy, REACHED is the sequel to MATCHED and CROSSED by Ally Condie. After leaving the Society and desperately searching for each other - and the Rising - Cassia and Ky have found what they were looking for, but at the cost of losing each other yet again.

But nothing is as predicted, and all too soon the veil lifts and things shift once again . . .
In the gripping conclusion to the bestselling MATCHED trilogy Cassia, Ky, and Xander return to the Society to save the one thing they have been denied for so long: the power to choose.


Blue Angel by Logan Belle
This trilogy sounds amazing, I can’t wait to start reading.

Book synopsis:
Mallory Dale doesn't like surprises. At least, that was the case. When her boyfriend takes her to a burlesque club for her twenty-fifth birthday, all she wants to do is go home and get under her bedcovers. So when she is pulled up on stage by one of the dancers and stripped down to her bra, in front of a roaring crowd - surprisingly, she loves every second of it. Over time, Mallory begins to devote herself to the world of burlesque. It awakens new-found sensual pleasures and reveals her true sexual nature. But she risks losing Alec in the process - or can she really have it all?

Fallen Angel by Logan Belle
Book synopsis:
Mallory Dale works as a paralegal in a top Manhattan law firm, by day. But at night, she's a bombshell burlesque performer on the rise. Her dream is to become a top dancer but she becomes distracted when her boyfriend, Alec, starts pushing her erotic boundaries. Can she handle a three-way with a wildly uninhibited dominatrix? Or should she hang up her feathers and focus on her day job? At the firm her sexy boss unexpectedly ignites her deepest fantasies and tempts her to find satisfaction away from her tempestuous relationship with Alec. But is she ready to play it safe and give up the man she's always loved for the thrill of life on the edge?
 
Naked Angel by Logan Belle

Book synopsis:
It's the biggest night of Mallory Dale's life. She's unveiling her sexy new burlesque club, The Painted Lady, and her boyfriend has a thrilling surprise for her. Alec is ready to propose, and he does it in her favourite place - onstage. But can she give up her boas in the name of happily ever after? Mallory isn't the only one torn between bliss onstage and off. Ballerina Nadia Grant has hung up her toe shoes, now she's perfecting the art of the striptease and whips the crowd at The Painted Lady into a frenzy. But one man is outraged, and it's the man Nadia loves. Meanwhile, the club's financial benefactor is endangering everything he holds dear when he begins a sizzling affair with a young costume designer. Just when they're so close to having it all, will the stars of The Painted Lady lose everything?
 
The Declaration, The Resistance, The Legacy by Gemma Malley
The Declaration - Sixteen-year-old Anna should not have been born. It is the year 2140 and people can live for ever. No one wants another mouth to feed, so she lives in a Surplus Hall, where unwanted children go to learn valuable lessons . . . at least she wasn't put down at birth. One day, a new inmate arrives. Anna's life is thrown into chaos. He says things about her parents and the Outside that couldn't possibly be true . . . Or could they? Thrilling, passionate and beautifully written, this dystopian novel is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games

The Resistance - The chilling, powerful sequel to Gemma Malley's acclaimed debut, The Declaration. For fans of The Hunger Games In a world where nobody dies, Peter and Anna are Opt Outs - they choose not to live for ever . . . but is that enough? To try and fight the system further, Peter infiltrates Pincent Pharma, the company behind Longevity - the drug that offers eternal life. But he finds himself involved in things he didn't think possible . . . and begins to struggle with his own family. It appears Richard Pincent will stop at nothing to get what he wants, even if it means ripping Peter and Anna's new life apart.

The Legacy - The unimaginable has happened - Longevity, the drug that is supposed to guarantee eternal youth, isn't working. A virus is sweeping the country, killing many in its wake, and Longevity is powerless to fight it. The Outside is frightened, death is suddenly a possibility and Pincent Pharma need someone to blame.The Underground are accused of deliberately contaminating a batch of the drugs and Peter and Anna are hunted down. But someone knows the truth . . . Will they speak up or watch as everything is torn to pieces? The thrilling conclusion to the brilliant dystopian trilogy that began with The Declaration. For fans of The Hunger Games.


 What was in your mailbox this week? 

7 comments:

Grace Fonseca said...

Nice haul of books. These all look interesting. I really am digging the covers for this book.

Grace

JC Jones said...

Great group of books this week. Happy reading.

Yiota said...

Loving the look of Moonset! Original and intriguing!!

Enjoy! :D
My new books: Newbies

LoonyAlana said...

Ohhh! I got Moonset, too! I'm so excited about that one! Those covers are all gorgeous! Hope you enjoy your haul!
Alana's StS @ Dark Obsession Chronicles

Kate said...

Great haul, enjoy : )

my STS and giveaway

Sandy said...

Luminosity and Reached are also on my TBR list. The others are new to me. Happy reading and happy Thanksgiving!

Check out my IMM & SP.

Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

Jenny said...

Great stack of books! I still need to read the Matched series. Enjoy!!

My IMM:
http://booksojourner.blogspot.com/2012/11/in-my-mailbox-stacking-shelves-5.html