Thursday, 13 December 2012

Blog stop for Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

I’m excited to be taking part in the Falling Kingdoms blog tour, and it’s our turn today :) Please join me in welcoming Morgan Rhodes to our blog, as she tells us more about her new book, Falling Kingdoms.

Falling Kingdoms – Inspiration 
Falling Kingdoms is the first book in a new YA high fantasy series. I’d describe it as a tapestry of betrayal, angst, and treachery, friendship and family, enemies and soul mates, following the lives of four very different teens characters from three neighbouring lands as they begin to intertwine during a time of war and magic.

I have always loved fantasy—movies, TV, books…you name it! And I’ve always wanted to write a “big” YA book that follows many different characters and their stories in a time of war and intrigue and badassery. When I found out my publisher (whom I’d worked with on Vampire Academy:The Ultimate Guide, written under my other pen name) wanted the same thing, Falling Kingdoms was born in a blaze of glory!

For inspiration…pretty much everything I’ve seen or read in my entire life has been an inspiration for this book – “grist for the mill,” as the saying goes! I have always loved fantasy—high fantasy, urban fantasy, and paranormal. I’ve devoured movies such as The Princess Bride, Legend, Willow, the Lord of the Rings trilogy, and, most recently, the amazing Game of Thrones series on HBO.

I love the romance and whimsy of a good fairy tale, but I equally love the grittiness shown in the fight for survival, which will draw out the true essence of each character, and the vigorous battle between good and evil. High fantasy (or any fantasy) comes down to that eternal question, in my opinion – which will prevail when put to the ultimate test? Good or evil?

Thank you Morgan!  I’ve had the pleasure of reading Falling Kingdoms, so without further ado, here’s my review for it :)

I love the fantasy and mysterious element of the cover – you’re not sure who the figure on the front is; but I was certainly intrigued by it and wanted to know more about the book from the cover.

From the start of the book I was gripped.  Two sisters snatch a baby for their own cause, and if that wasn’t enough to get your teeth into that part alone sees a jaw dropping finish to the prologue.  That’s before the book has started in earnest!  After that, the book goes full steam ahead.  Just when you think you know it all, there’s a curve ball and someone else gets murdered, or there’s a really unexpected plot twist.  What starts out as a innocent shopping trip for Chloe and her friends ends in a grisly death, which escalates waayyyy out of control throughout the book. 

I like Chloe, she is a character with lots of empathy for others and she doesn’t take things for granted, even though her father is the king.  When she sets her sights on something she won’t let go until she is good and ready.  I loved the way she interacted with her protector – the story between them is so bittersweet that I could see it playing out on the big screen as I read it. 

There are two distinct groups who end up at war in this – the Limorians (Booo! Hiss!!!) and the Paelsians  - each are reputed to be brutal, but in reality I flippin’ well hated the Limorians!!!  Oh that king has a lot to answer for with the way he rules and dictates!  Don’t even get me started on how he treats his family!!!!  That may well be a lot of exclamation marks for a review – but you can see the way Fallen Kingdoms got under my skin and had me riled in places for the characters.  BTW; some characters have no backbone there’s one in particular that made me shudder and want to slap him just to get him to man up.

For what it’s worth – you should read this.  If you’re looking for mystery, murder, mayhem, betrayal, romance and coming of age, then you’ll have it all in Falling Kingdoms.  It will make you want to shout at the warmongers, and throttle the heads of families…like I said – this one got under my skin!  My rating for it is 5/5.

Falling Kingdoms is out now from Razorbill in ebook, and in hard copy from January 2013.

Book synopsis:
Fantasy, romance and magic meld with unforgettable characters in this sensational series debut. Perfect for fans of George RR Martin's Game of Thrones, JRR Tolkein'sThe Hobbit, and Trudy Canavan's Black Magician trilogy.
In a land where magic has been forgotten and peace has reigned for centuries, unrest is simmering . Three kingdoms battle for power . . .
A princess must journey into enemy territory in search of a magic long-thought extinct.
A rebel becomes the leader of a bloody revolution.
A Sorceress discovers the truth about the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.
It's the eve of war. Each must choose a side.

Source – Many thanks to the publisher, a (huge bound ARC!) copy was received in return for an honest review.

1 comment:

Lynsey Newton said...

LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!! So glad it was written :)