Tuesday, 13 September 2011

Crypt, The Gallows Curse By Andrew Hammond

Guest review
Title: Crypt – The Gallows Curse
Author: Andrew Hammond
Publisher:  Headline
Published:  Sept 2011
ISBN: 9780755378210

Rating: 5/5

In the beginning, it gave a fab insight into what the story was going to be about – CRYPT = Covert Response Youth Paranormal Team.  Expect lots of ghosts, vivid/graphic horror (eg: at one point you have maggots coming out of a ghosts mouth whilst it’s killing people)  It isn’t until later in the story I realised why the ghosts were appearing (something I’m not going to share – it’ll spoil it!!)

My favourite character from this is Bex, she becomes one of the main characters’ side kick and is a newcomer to the Crypt who gets teamed up with Jud.

I thoroughly enjoyed this, it kept me interested as it’s very unpredictable.  I would definitely read the next in the series.

Book trailer:

Book synopsis:
Meet Jud Lester: Star agent with CRYPT, the Covert Response Youth Paranormal Team.
When a crime is committed and the police are at a loss, CRYPT is called in to figure out whether something paranormal is at work. Jud is their star agent.
Jud, unwillingly paired with new recruit Bex, has just landed his biggest case yet ... people have been disappearing in mysterious circumstances while others are viciously attacked - yet there are no suspects and a complete lack of hard evidence. The only thing that links each attack is the fact that survivors all claim that the culprits were 17th century highwaymen.
Can Jud and Bex work out what has caused the spirits of these dangerous men to return to the streets of
London before they wreak more death and destruction?
A fantastic blend of teenage spies, horror and ghost-busting for fans of Cherub and Young Bond.

Source – Many thanks to Headline, an ARC was received at an event for review, a second copy was received and has been given away in one of our giveaways :)

This review has been completed by John, Clover Hill Book Reviews other half…as Michelle couldn’t get past the first chapter as she was too busy hiding under the bed covers in fright ;))  Seriously – she doesn’t do graphic horror…and has learnt her lesson ;p  However I’m happy to read books such as this - John

2 comments:

Jules said...

LOL, John I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

It's the opposite in our house, I love horror and my hubby can't stand it :)

Vivienne said...

It is fabulous isn't it. I can't wait for the next one.
I have Andrew Hammond on the blog today and I was killing myself with laughter as he scares really easily. Yet he wrote the scariest book I have read this year!